[LIFE] HANGEUL DAY & HAVING TO JUGGLE BETWEEN SEVERAL LANGUAGES 조선글날/한글날 & 수개 국어를 말하는 사람

image

I’m a few hours late as I just got off my schedules but heeeey, it was Hangeul Day a couple of hours ago!

I didn’t forget, my phone alarmed me about it early in the morning lol

For those who aren’t familiar, Hangeul Day is a commemoration of the day the Korean Alphabet was brought to life. It was proclaimed by King Sejong, the guy on the statue at Gwanhwamun in case you guys don’t know, and it’s celebrated every October 9th. It’s a public holiday for alphabets, you guys, because Koreans appreciate the adoption of a national writing system and are proud like that.

Did you know that 한글 (Hangeul) literally means “Great Language”? 😀 Interesting, isn’t it?

With the thought of Hangeul in mind, I suddenly thought back to how people (only the rich ones, actually) had to read and write in Chinese. Comparing Chinese and Korean side by side, Chinese looks pretty damn difficult, or is it just me? But woohoo, Sejong saves the day and proclaims a national way of reading and writing! And a day-off from work lol

I’m not spared from using Chinese though. I do still kind of use Chinese, everyday. Alongside Korean and English. I hang out with Koreans and a Chinese girl, in a place with a lot of Koreans, and we all want to learn and improve our English. To make it easy for my Chinese friend and to make her feel accepted, I speak to her in her language despite my lacking skills in Mandarin (Hokkien for the win!). After speaking to her in Chinese, I transfer back to Korean and English. Then my mind screws up.

I wake up every morning unsure of how I’ll do when it comes to speaking throughout the day lol I feel like, sometimes, I forget words despite how basic they are because my mind is juggling. While fixing up and heading to schedules, I try to translate and remember words in my head. Once people are around, I sometimes reply a bit slower or even don’t get my point across because my mind is busy translating. Like a post I saw online, “I’m pretty smart, but I just can’t fully let it out because I still have to process and translate things in my mind.” E x a c t l y.

No matter how fluent, I sometimes and somehow still can’t fully express my thoughts and feelings because it won’t sound the same or as strong in another language. I sometimes just can’t find words that will have the same impact as what I’m trying to imply, which is sad because I end up looking like I’m loss for words when I have a pretty good statement in mind.

Despite that con of being multilingual, I can’t deny the fact that it is really helpful. If I hadn’t known how to speak Chinese, I won’t get to help my friend, I probably wouldn’t have ended up to be her friend even. She’d also probably feel lost and out of place in a Korean-filled place. And with a majority of us trying to get better in English, it’s helping in a way that it gives us future benefits. It’s easier to find a decent job when you speak English hehe But anyway…

Yeah. 😀 It may be difficult to juggle around different languages, but I know it’s good, not only for myself but also for others 🙂 It’s a win-win situation, and I don’t think I’ll ever regret learning languages that are fairly different from my mother tongue 🙂

Til our next exploration ☆ 유리랑 같이 시도해용!

4 thoughts on “[LIFE] HANGEUL DAY & HAVING TO JUGGLE BETWEEN SEVERAL LANGUAGES 조선글날/한글날 & 수개 국어를 말하는 사람

  1. I enjoy looking at Hanja and seeing where the word “came from” in Chinese. 🙂 Yes, it is way harder to write than Hangeul, but I find it easier to read. I’m sure this is because I’m not Korean, though. 🙂

    Like

    1. The hard thing about Chinese, personally, would be the intonations and the many strokes. Their sentence construction seems simpler for language learners, though. Where the “word came from” is really interesting as well hehe Oh, and you read the romanization as is. While in Korean, there are some exemptions that would make the romanization a bit different from the Hangeul characters 😧

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve spent months trying to delineate “o” and “eo,” the latter being a particularly pleasant vowel in my opinion.

        Chinese tones are actually fairly simple once you get the system down; the same is true with strokes. One linguist I talked to assured me that you don’t memorize every stroke set for every character, rather each character is broken down into blocks that make writing a character very easy after a while. That’s been my experience, at least.

        As to where the word “came from,” is it true that 70% of Korean vocabulary evolved from Chinese? For instance the hanja for “sudo” (drain, river) being 水道, shuidao, meaning “water path” in Chinese.

        Am I on track with this? I neither speak nor can understand Korean, I’ve merely observed it from an analytical distance. 🙂

        Like

      2. I guess I’m just not that good with tones since I’m used to not putting much focus on it while speaking haha. And as for the relation between Chinese and Korean words, that’s actually true 😀 A lot of Korean words are similar and are from Chinese words 😀 Like how credit card is 신용카드 (sinyong kadeu) in Korean while it’s “xinyongka” in Chinese 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

