[TRAVEL DIARY] JAPAN APRIL 2016 – GONTRAN CHERRIER, SHINJUKU 여행 다이어리 2016 : 곤트란 쉐리에 카페 신주쿠

Another post to add onto my Travel Diary and Try In Japan series! Today’s post isn’t a very long one either, and I was even contemplating on posting this or not because this store has branches in Korea as well. I haven’t tried the one in Korea, and I was thinking of including it to my Try In Seoul series, but nah I don’t have much time once I get back to Korea. So Try In Japan it is! 😀

Presenting: Gontran Cherrier

image

How To Get There: Get off at Shinjuku station, exit at South Exit, across would be a bus station.

image

Beside the bus station would be the cafe.

image

What They Serve: Pastries and Coffee

The pastry section is a self service area so once you enter, take a tray and tongs to take some bread.

They have a wide variety of pastries and they are fairly cheap. Shown below are some photos of the pastry section:

image

image

image

Their main drinks are coffee, but if that isn’t your cup of tea, then you can opt for juices

image

They only have a couple of seats at the first floor, but you can always have a seat upstairs and the view is just as pleasing 🙂

image

image

image

image

image

If you stay at the bar seats, you’ll be infront of big windows where you can look down at the busy streets of Shinjuku.

As for the food, like I mentioned, they’re pretty cheap and they’re tasty as well. Quite greasy, but it’s still good and light-weight. The bread isn’t purely air inside but it’s still easy to eat hehe

Shown below are Fromage, Croissant and Matcha Bread. All those for less than ¥1,000!

image

All of them were good, but the Fromage was my favourite and the Matcha Bread would be my least favourite.

The Fromage has cheese both inside and out. The taste is well balanced, not too strong and not too bland.
The Croissant was good too, but I still prefer cheese flavoured stuff better lol I actually have a photo of the inside of the Croissant, and here it is.

image

The Matcha Bread doesn’t taste like Matcha lol It has some subtle certain taste that I can’t point out exactly because of its weakness, so yeah, this isn’t something I’d buy again.

Overall though, this place is nice and I recommend giving it a try. It’s cheap, the vibe is nice, and their food is good! I’m not sure where their other branches are in Japan, but as far as I remember, they have stores at Itaewon and Apgujeong for you to visit 🙂

2 thoughts on “[TRAVEL DIARY] JAPAN APRIL 2016 – GONTRAN CHERRIER, SHINJUKU 여행 다이어리 2016 : 곤트란 쉐리에 카페 신주쿠

Leave a Reply

