[REVIEW] LANEIGE EDGE DRAWING EYELINER SHARPIE VERSION IN SHADE DEEP BLACK 라네지 엣지 드로잉 아이라이너 (샤피 – 딥 블랙)

LANEIGE EDGE DRAWING EYELINER SHARPIE VERSION IN SHADE DEEP BLACK REVIEW
*This post is not sponsored. Item is bought with my own money and review is done with my own honest thoughts.*

PRICE: ₩18.000
BOUGHT FROM: Laneige

Hello hello! It’s another eyeliner review for this week but this time, the product that I’ll be reviewing is from the brand “Laneige”. It’s definitely more expensive than the other eyeliner that I reviewed 4 days ago, but would this perform better? Would it be the same? Or would buying the cheaper one be a better choice? Read on to find out~

To start off, here are the claims of this product:
1. Even beginners can draw stable eye lines easy and fast.
2. The eyeliner does not smudge since it instantly dries in 3 seconds with the help of Fitting Polymer.
3. The selection-type/two-way applicator allows drawing customized eye lines that are perfect for each person’s eyes.

The ingredients are listed down below:
** The ones marked with “!!” are ingredients that may cause irritation **
– Water 
– Styrene
– Carbon Black
– Butylene Glycol
– 1,2-Hexanediol 
– Acrylates
– Beheneth-30 
– Pentylene Glycol
– Sodium Benzoate 
– Potassium Sorbate 
– Sodium Hydroxide 
– Caprylyl Glycol 
– Ethylhexylglycerin
!! Phenoxyethanol (preservative)
!! Alcohol (drying)

The packaging is really simple. The eyeliner comes in a box like so,

image

At the back of the box are the claims in Korean:

image

The translations of the text are the claims mentioned earlier, plus an additional “Shake before use” note at the end.

The pen itself is very simple. Sleek, black plastic body with a cap that has a spring mechanism inside. The cap also has a print on it, showing how the applicator would look like.

image

Pull the cap off and there you have the felt-tip, angled applicator:

image

image

The tip itself is quite sturdy so it doesn’t really bend. If you’re more into flexible brushes, then this isn’t for you. However, if you’re into more steady brushes, then this is perfect.

Despite it not being flexible, it still is fairly easy to apply. Personally, I find myself pressing down the applicator onto the lid to create short lines before carefully connecting them all together because I feel like the line would be smoother and more even that way.

A con that I found is how the tip doesn’t exactly deliver the sharpest wings. It looks like it would, but it still gives pretty rounded edges. To get a very sharp and defined tip, I take a makeup corrector pen to fix and sharpen the edges.

Another thing that’s meh about this product is the “2 type applicator” claim. I actually thought it would be 2 ways in 1 pen. But it turns out there are 2 kinds of Edge Drawing Eyeliners that you can buy: this angled sharpie, and a typical liquid brush-pen.

image
Photo Credit: Laneige Official Site

So yep, if you want the “selection-type applicator”, then you have to buy both versions of the Edge Drawing Liner. If you want a natural look, buy the pen version. If you want edgier lines, then buy the sharpie version. You can do different styles with one pen, sure, but it could be done much quicker with the right type, ya know what I mean?

The colour and pigmentation of this product is good though! It’s jet black even without primer. As for drying time, it is indeed quick but I wouldn’t say 3 seconds. I’ll give it 10-15 seconds.

Shown below are unprimed 1 layer lines, both on hand and eye:

image

Unprimed eye makeup glided/applied on: PM3.30

image

I ran water over the back of my hand and it ended up like this:

image

image

I wiped over it and:

image

Definitely went by the claim of not smudging 🙂

As for longevity on my unprimed, oily lids, this eyeliner actually did so-so. 4 hours in, the lower area of my wing bled out like so:

image

I took a cleansing tissue and wiped the small mess off. It looked back to normal. By PM10.00, it crumbled down more.

image

As for cleaning this off at the end of the day, this is pretty hard to wash off. It requires a bit more effort even if unprimed. So be prepared for some cleaning 🙂

Overall, this isn’t something I personally would recommend. Its angled tip can make things easier and pigmentation is good, yeah, but I know another eyeliner that can last me longer even without the usage of a primer. If you have all the time in the morning to apply primer, then this would be fine. If you’re short on time, this wouldn’t be the best option. Lastly, if you’re cool with a non-angled liner, then there are cheaper options out there that has better performance 🙂

That’s all for today, and as always, thank you for reading 😀

5 thoughts on “[REVIEW] LANEIGE EDGE DRAWING EYELINER SHARPIE VERSION IN SHADE DEEP BLACK 라네지 엣지 드로잉 아이라이너 (샤피 – 딥 블랙)

  1. I wish someday you do this honest review like this for a sponsor or two YooRi. 🙂 You are really good at this one.
    I don’t use eyeliner, however, if someday I start using it, I think I’ll go for something sturdy like this, since I’m easily shaken. 😀 😀 😀

    Like

      1. You are welcome.
        By the way, I’m in waiting room, about heading for South Korea.
        Wish you luck with the school things. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

